Day 4: Moab to Tropic

“Small price to pay for beauty” – Butch Cassidy

Sorry for the late post I had some major technical difficulties but got them figured out.  Hope everybody had a great day!

Today I packed up my things and left Moab to head to Tropic, Utah.  The drive took a little under 5 hours and once again was packed with amazing scenery.  I traveled through the rock formations (which never really ended) and through the high desert.  From there I passed through the Fishlake National Forest and then back to dirt and shrubs.  I stopped a lot along the way to take photos, but many of them were whited out because of the haze from controlled burning in the area.  One of the coolest parts of the drive was passing through the rocks that had been blasted away for the highway to be put in.

DSC_0001 YES Lower quality
Cut in the rocks where the road goes through

Another great stop was at the childhood house of Butch Cassidy.  If you do not know who he is just look him up.  While it was really just a shack on the side of the road, I had no idea I was going to pass it and this is one of the things I love about just being able to drive and see where the road takes you.

DSC_0009 YES ELLQ
The childhood home of Butch Cassidy

DSC_0010 YES LLQ

Finally I made it to the Red Rock Canyon which introduced me to the area I am staying at now.  It was pretty unbelievable to drive pass these giant rock pillars that were bright red.  Unfortunately, the rock tunnel that you can drive through is shut down but I got to pass it as I made my way to Tropic.

DSC_0014 YES LLLQ

Also, here is the picture of the guys that climbed up one of the pillars in Arches National Park that I couldn’t upload at the time.  Better late than never!

DSC_0079
Take a look at the top of the pillar!

Now that I am in tropic I will be here for three nights and have a lot of exploring to do.  I am in a triangle with Bryce Canyon National Park, Grand Escalante Staircase, and Kodachrome State Park.  Needless to say I am super super excited to get out and see all the sights and go on some amazing hikes.  Stay tuned for more in the coming days because I am sure I will have quite a few pictures to upload.  I am also throwing in a timelapse I took on my initial drive.  It is a bit long (3 minutes).  But it is the sunset as I drove through a canyon up to Boise, ID.  Anyway, I hope everybody that is taking a look at these is having a great time following my journey!

Leave a comment